Since wines are made from grapes, many people assume that wines are vegan. After all, grapes are fruits. While it is true that some wines are vegan, not all of them are. Freshly made wine is cloudy in appearance. Large molecules eventually settle to the bottom, but winemakers can accelerate this process by using “fining agents” derived from eggs and meat to clarify the wine. The fining agents attract molecules and form larger particles that can be filtered out sooner, thereby speeding up production.
It is possible that some small traces of the fining agents remain in the finished wine, making it technically not vegan. Fortunately, there are vegan wines available that are made using non-animal fining agents.
HINT: There are presently no laws mandating that a wine label must indicate what type of fining agents were used during the production of the wine.